Player interviews

Player Profile: Rolien Faber

Rolien

Which 3 words describe you? “quite spontaneous, strive hard, everything for fun”

I’m excited to bring you this interview with Rolien who happily volunteered to be interviewed. She’s a good friend and a strong left-handed player from the Netherlands. Rolien moved to Sydney from her home town two years ago and she’s a rare all-rounder, playing in singles, mixed doubles and women’s doubles events. We sat down to have a chat between games at the new courts with Sydney Badminton Players.

How did you get into badminton? I’m now 32 and I started when I was 9. I’m from the Netherlands and we used to play it during holidays on a camping summer night and I got quite excited so I decided to try it and I never, never, never stopped playing.

What’s your playing style? Well somebody just told me that I play quite offensive, so I think that’s my style [laughs]. For a girl I have quite some power I guess and I like to use it. I move around the court a little more than I used to and I try to play a bit more singles against guys so I have to move and I think that’s good.

Can you tell me about your last competition? I played singles and mixed in two events. That was awesome, won a few games and lost a few unfortunately but had a really good time. We were in a huge group and we were just having a good time. I have won trophies, yes [smiles]

Have you ever hit somebody with a racquet? [grins] Oh yeah, unfortunately yes, not on purpose

If you could have an endless supply of food, what would you have? Chocolate, for sure

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go? I think South America, I heard it’s beautiful, especially…I’m not sure how it is in English…(De Galapagos Eilanden) The Galapagos Islands

What are your thoughts on playing mixed doubles with your partner? You gotta know each other…different points of view is part of it, it’s like a relationship you know!

If you could be anyone for a day, who would it be? I would be a child but with the knowledge of things I have now, not with the mind of a child, so I could enjoy having no cares for a day

What life advice would you give your 20 year self? Live a bit more, travel a bit more, embrace life

Note: The last part of the interview recording was drowned out by the sound of shoes, shuttlecocks and shouting so the last three responses are summaries but the transcript is accurate.

Leave a Reply

